Residents of Wichita, Kan., voted Tuesday, April 7, 2015, to approve an initiative to reduce marijuana possession penalties. The proposed ordinance makes first time possession a criminal infraction with a $50 fine. Under Kansas state law, possession is a misdemeanor with a fine of up to $2,500 and a year in jail.
Kansas AG has vowed to sue the city of Wichita stating the city does not have authority to pass an ordinance that conflicts with state law.
The vote is seen largely as a protest vote “to send the [Kansas] legislature a message”.